top of page
Search
Writer's pictureJeff Hatter

Books for the road

Updated: Oct 21, 2020

#Reading plays a vital role in travel.

I'm going to relax. Why do I need a book?

Read before you go - learn about what you can expect on your adventure.
Read while you are there - early mornings (if you wake up then) can be a silent calm before your day starts, and late evenings (if not enjoying the entertainment) can be as well. Great time to read!
Read when you get home (or move to the next adventure) - learn more about topics you heard about from conversations on your trip.

Travel is a time to unplug. Remove yourself from the social media platforms, the unnecessary emails, and burdensome phone calls. Well, what else is there to do if I cannot play my games, scroll through Instagram or Facebook, or even admire the pictures I took during the day or week? (I hear this A LOT!)


READ! READ! READ!


What people read

Reading while you are traveling adds another dimension to your travels. Many travel with travel guides, like Lonely Planet, and these books can offer great tips on where to eat, what to see and do, and even provide you with a bit of history or cultural information. So, by reading these books you can explore unplanned areas if you have time. You can checkout the local eateries rather than just the same 'ole tourist dining spots. You can find places for self-care (massages, haircuts, and more), and attractions you may not have intended on viewing (but have to now that you are there).


Other travelers like to take novels or biographies/autobiographies with them. (This is what I do and what I would recommend). Here are just a few reasons why I think it is a good idea to travel with these books:

  • Learn something in your free time (knowledge, wisdom, or comedy)

  • Gives you adventure while on your adventure

  • Provides you with conversation topics to use during dining times

  • It is easy on your eyes - unlike that luminescent screen you hold all day every day

  • Can be read practically anywhere - on transportation, on the beach, lying in bed, sitting on the toilet...

The length of your adventure may determine the type of book you bring with you, but keep in mind where you are going as well. You do not want to lug around extra unnecessary weight with you. The length of stay may also determine how many books you pack.


Books can be a great place to jot notes

I make sure to keep my book in my day-bag whenever I travel. I can read it while taking a break and enjoying tea/coffee, but I can also use to jot down notes about things I learn through conversations or just being present in the moment.


Have you ever read a book and made notes in the margins? Of course you have. You can probably find a book in your collection that has a few notes jotted down in it somewhere. Why not do this with information you obtain while traveling?


I have many books that are laced with penciled/penned markings of notes I jotted down information pertaining to: locations I needed to see, eateries I needed to try, local pubs where I can chat it up with others to learn more about the beautiful place I was visiting, or even the massage parlors "that everyone goes to".


Closing remarks

Put the phone down! Educate, inspire, or entertain yourself! Bring life to the conversations you have! Jot the notes in the book. You will have them forever! Don't over pack!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page